The Illuminated - Official Tristania Forum

  • 23 March 2017, 06:08:10
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: "Rubicon" reviews  (Read 9783 times)

Disgraced

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
    • MySpace Page
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #40 on: 28 August 2010, 22:23:52 »

another very positive (90/100) review: http://www.femmemetal.net/tristaniarubiconreview.htm
Logged
I'M SELLING MANY CDS HERE! JUST TAKE A LOOK AND SPREAD THE WORD!

CDS BACK FOR SALE  P L U S  A PAIR OF NEW ITEMS!

http://shop.ebay.it/lord_evangel/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=&_trksid=p3686

Disgraced

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
    • MySpace Page
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #41 on: 30 August 2010, 19:00:51 »

long (consists of four different reviews) and positive review in italian: http://www.stereoinvaders.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&catid=1:cd&id=3985:tristania-rubicon&Itemid=16

every journalist gave at least 7 as final mark. i'm in a hurry right now but if anyone's interested i'll translate later ;)
Logged
I'M SELLING MANY CDS HERE! JUST TAKE A LOOK AND SPREAD THE WORD!

CDS BACK FOR SALE  P L U S  A PAIR OF NEW ITEMS!

http://shop.ebay.it/lord_evangel/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=&_trksid=p3686

Disgraced

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
    • MySpace Page
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #42 on: 01 September 2010, 13:06:34 »

there's another great italian review: http://www.powermetal.it/album_detail.php?id=01465

i'm sorry i never have enough time to translate; if anyone is interested in a full translation of this or everything i already posted or will post, please feel free to mail me!

anyway final mark here is 7,5/10. however, no big additions information-wise are given.

 ;D
Logged
I'M SELLING MANY CDS HERE! JUST TAKE A LOOK AND SPREAD THE WORD!

CDS BACK FOR SALE  P L U S  A PAIR OF NEW ITEMS!

http://shop.ebay.it/lord_evangel/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=&_trksid=p3686

Disgraced

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
    • MySpace Page
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #43 on: 02 September 2010, 21:46:02 »

it isn't a review but here's the charts given my the main music store in Milan, every week spread through metalitalia which is one of the main metal portals in italy: http://www.metalitalia.com/articles/37442/classifica__album_venduti.html 3rd place!
Logged
I'M SELLING MANY CDS HERE! JUST TAKE A LOOK AND SPREAD THE WORD!

CDS BACK FOR SALE  P L U S  A PAIR OF NEW ITEMS!

http://shop.ebay.it/lord_evangel/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=&_trksid=p3686

annodomini

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #44 on: 07 September 2010, 12:43:36 »

I was tired of battling with everyone, so I just put a review of my point of view about Rubicon :)

http://cabinofart.blogspot.com/2010/08/tristania-illumination.html

Enjoy.
Logged

Tjeerd

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1.598
  • El Presidente
    • View Profile
    • Syrion.net
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #45 on: 07 September 2010, 14:03:02 »

Heya, thanks for your review, but one correction: Mariangela is Italian, the "spanish chick" is in Sirenia. ;)
Logged

Music Credo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 543
    • View Profile
    • http://www.muzikantenweb.nl
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #46 on: 07 September 2010, 23:27:17 »

Song-by-song review on http://www.metal-experience.com/reviews/cd/2010/Tristania%20cd%20Rubicon.htm also on Muzikantenweb, but this is a better direct weblink!


conclusion:
Rubicon is the crown on twelve years of Tristania; unique, powerful, and unforgettable! They invented the format, and still are standing strong, making a statement for a promising future. It deserves your attention, because they are back on top of the gothic metal scene. Itís simply beautiful music with strong harmonies and outstanding vocalists.

rating:
9.8/10
« Last Edit: 08 September 2010, 19:00:03 by Silvia »
Logged
_________________
There's nothing but the power to believe in me
I reach for what I know.
When I can't see tomorrow
I carry hope.

Disgraced

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
    • MySpace Page
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #47 on: 08 September 2010, 13:36:39 »

Heya, thanks for your review, but one correction: Mariangela is Italian, the "spanish chick" is in Sirenia. ;)

not the only difference: mariangela is hot as hell and can sing like heaven or hell; ailyn is hot as hell and... ehr. :-X :-X :-X

 ;D
Logged
I'M SELLING MANY CDS HERE! JUST TAKE A LOOK AND SPREAD THE WORD!

CDS BACK FOR SALE  P L U S  A PAIR OF NEW ITEMS!

http://shop.ebay.it/lord_evangel/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=&_trksid=p3686

annodomini

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #48 on: 08 September 2010, 15:08:12 »

Oh my fault,  I was just quoting other forums and facebook :)
Logged

Disgraced

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
    • MySpace Page
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #49 on: 08 September 2010, 15:47:56 »

don't worry, annodomini!

i'd like to expose a problem here, since this is the most read thread and we have so many similar threads on this forum, not leading to big discussions i think.

i found this, surfing for some live rubicon tracks: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qL5sD-rMOFE&feature=related
i HATE this kind of stuff. this doesn't help the band you love, doing it so publicly that everyone, not just the fan who's broke and wants to get the album before actually buying it, also every a**hole that syumbles upon it on youtube might get the album. AND that was posted on 27th of august. you've got to thank that english language doesn't have so many bad words and those existing are not that bad, because otherwise i would have been expelled from the forum ;)
so, back to the beginning, i'd like to know how to stop this "video": i flagged it, and followed a process for something like 40 mins that led me to nothing, i really don't understand how to do it. can someone who agrees (hope many) help me out?
Logged
I'M SELLING MANY CDS HERE! JUST TAKE A LOOK AND SPREAD THE WORD!

CDS BACK FOR SALE  P L U S  A PAIR OF NEW ITEMS!

http://shop.ebay.it/lord_evangel/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=&_trksid=p3686

The Devil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1.971
    • View Profile
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #50 on: 08 September 2010, 16:03:49 »

I don't know how it really works to remove a thing from youtube but I guess the best way would be to send an email with the link to Napalm,
I think they have better chances to make them remove it.
Logged

Disgraced

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
    • MySpace Page
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #51 on: 08 September 2010, 16:12:27 »

thanks for the tip, devil. i'm doing it right now!
Logged
I'M SELLING MANY CDS HERE! JUST TAKE A LOOK AND SPREAD THE WORD!

CDS BACK FOR SALE  P L U S  A PAIR OF NEW ITEMS!

http://shop.ebay.it/lord_evangel/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=&_trksid=p3686

Tjeerd

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1.598
  • El Presidente
    • View Profile
    • Syrion.net
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #52 on: 08 September 2010, 16:13:57 »

I reported your post so all moderators (which means all bandmembers as well) get the warning. Hopefully they're able to use their contacts.

Thanks for the report!
Logged

Disgraced

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
    • MySpace Page
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #53 on: 08 September 2010, 16:23:36 »

thanks to you, tjeerd!

as i just wrote to napalm, one thing is sharing on/through filesharing programms, i would be a hypocrite if i criticized that because i do it me myself. but there, you have to precisely search for xxxyyyzzz before finding it; and chances you're a fan and that lately you'll buy it if you like it are high. thank god or whoever in his/its/her place, alternative music in general still has lots of buyers.

but throwing out the opportunity of downloading music this way, as if YOU were the owner, with this nonchalance... nonono. you'd deserve to be hanged in the main square! ;D
Logged
I'M SELLING MANY CDS HERE! JUST TAKE A LOOK AND SPREAD THE WORD!

CDS BACK FOR SALE  P L U S  A PAIR OF NEW ITEMS!

http://shop.ebay.it/lord_evangel/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=&_trksid=p3686

Tjeerd

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1.598
  • El Presidente
    • View Profile
    • Syrion.net
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #54 on: 08 September 2010, 16:44:21 »

The guys account exist to promote pirated stuff (and earn him money by letting others fill out shitty quizzes for companies).

Edit: goddamned, google is lazy: you have to jump through hoops to report a piracy-offense and their "help center" consists of what seems to be user to user interaction.
« Last Edit: 08 September 2010, 16:49:57 by Tjeerd »
Logged

Tjeerd

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1.598
  • El Presidente
    • View Profile
    • Syrion.net
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #55 on: 10 September 2010, 16:45:06 »

Review from one of the bigger dutch online metalzines (which is bilingual): http://www.lordsofmetal.nl/showreview.php?id=17068&lang=en (8.5/10)
Quote
As for me, Tristania has really come out of this crisis with an innovative record. Actually, many songs on this record you would not expect from them and that will lead to mixed reactions among the fans and press reviews. However, when you give the album a fair chance, something beautiful grows.
Logged

Disgraced

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
    • MySpace Page
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #56 on: 11 September 2010, 11:19:41 »

Rubicon entered official Swiss charts at 95: http://swisscharts.com/weekchart.asp?cat=a

and is at position 74 in Belgium (for the Wallonia section): http://www.ultratop.be/en/weekchart.asp?cat=a&lang=fr!

Logged
I'M SELLING MANY CDS HERE! JUST TAKE A LOOK AND SPREAD THE WORD!

CDS BACK FOR SALE  P L U S  A PAIR OF NEW ITEMS!

http://shop.ebay.it/lord_evangel/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=&_trksid=p3686

Music Credo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 543
    • View Profile
    • http://www.muzikantenweb.nl
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #57 on: 07 October 2010, 10:57:27 »

My cd review in Png. for those who don't want to read from a long page can download it and zoom in. Or go to my weblink, mentioned above (http://www.metal-experience.com/reviews/cd/2010/Tristania%20cd%20Rubicon.htm )

I mention it again, because after the weekend a live review and interview are posted there, thanks!
Logged
_________________
There's nothing but the power to believe in me
I reach for what I know.
When I can't see tomorrow
I carry hope.

The Devil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1.971
    • View Profile
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #58 on: 07 October 2010, 13:12:49 »

Great review thank you Silvia  :)
Logged

RayDV

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
  • Hi! I'm new here!
    • View Profile
Re: "Rubicon" reviews
« Reply #59 on: 20 October 2010, 21:59:22 »

Well..uhm..If you've ever heard Vibeke sing live, it's a HUGE difference from on the records. Vibekes voice was not as good live. She couldnt hit those high notes live and she could not do much besides standing there waving her arms. Thats a fact. And as much as Mariangela goes, shes got more singing abilities than Vibeke will ever have. Because she's got control of her voice. Vibeke was faking it. We all know it.
Sadly I never got to see her live but I got the Widow's tour DVD and I think she was and sounded amazing and I loved her presence on stage, it fit perfectly with their music, it was creepy and dark and she was really hot too! :P even though I haven't seen but videos of mary live yet personally I thinks that she smiles, jumps and moves around too much, it doesn't fit the music (at least the old songs whit the new ones it kinda feels more natural though) I think Mary should try to go on a different way to help us get in the mood for some Tristania songs. 

And why are you only posting positive reviews? I've seen some reviewers that didn't like the album that much. Anyway as for me I think this new album is good, but by far my least favorite by Tristania. Sometimes I can't even recognize them, if you would have show me some of the songs and told me this was Tristania before the album have comed out I wouldn't have believe you, I must admit I really miss their old style, but overall their new sound is ok.
« Last Edit: 20 October 2010, 22:27:44 by RayDV »
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4